Please Send Donuts


Dunkin', you fair temptress . . .

I just saw a recipe for homemade donuts. Not gluten-free, but white-flour filled, glaze-covered, and (I’m assuming, but hey, how would I know since I’m a mother scratchin’ celiac) delicious. So I charged the grocery store to buy supplies and create my own version of donuts. Instead of just grabbing my usual gluten-free all-purpose flour, I combined a flour mixture from Carol Fenster’s 100 Best Gluten-Free Recipes, as her particular blend seems to work best with baking. Then I pulled up a recipe from The Pioneer Woman and created these gluten-free bad boys.

Honestly, it took me all of fifteen minutes from reading the recipe to hitting the store. I had no idea how much I missed sugary, fluffy yet crispy, fried balls of dough. But oh I miss them. Oh. I. Miss. Those. Effers. Then it took me about three days to pull together the most labor intensive goodies I’ve ever made. And my poor kitchen will never be the same. I should have taken a picture of that, to really give you the inside scoop on how to make gluten-free donuts.

In addition to that whole finding the perfect gf flour issue, I have no dough hook, unlike The Pioneer Woman of Perfection. So where she used a dough hook, I used my old standby — the electric hand mixer. I also threw out my deep fat fryer in a health kick a few years ago, but am now 100% inspired to get another one — industrial sized. Cooking up donuts in a cast iron skillet is cool and old-school, but how much faster would I have been done if I could have just thrown them in the fry basket? A lot faster.

So here’s what I cobbled together via The Pioneer Woman, via The Stir, with my gf adjustments. Was it worth it? Let’s find out, shall we?

Homemade Gluten-Free Glazed Doughnuts

For doughnuts:

  • 1-1/8 cup Whole Milk, Warm
  • 1/4 cups Sugar
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons (one Package) Instant Or Active Dry Yeast
  • 2 whole Large Eggs, Beaten
  • 1-1/4 stick Unsalted Butter, melted
  • 4 cups Carol’s Sorghum Blend: 1 1/2 cups sorghum flour, 1 1/2 cups potato starch or cornstarch, 1 cup tapioca flour
  • 2 teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 1/4 teaspoons Salt
  • Canola Oil

Warm your milk in the microwave for about 20 — 30 seconds. Milk should be warm, but not too hot.  Add sugar to milk. Stir to dissolve. Then add yeast into a small bowl.

Pour milk/sugar mixture over yeast. Stir gently, then let it sit for 10 minutes.

Next, beat two eggs in a bowl large enough for your mixer while you melt butter in separate bowl until butter is almost melted. Stir the butter to finish melting so butter won’t be overly hot. Add melted butter to beaten eggs, stirring constantly to make sure the butter’s not too hot for the eggs. Get out that mixer (use your dough hook here, if you’ve got it).

With the mixer on 3 or medium-low speed, pour in the yeast mixture. Mix long enough to combine well.

Then with the mixer still going, add helpings of the flour and xanthan gum mixture in 1/4 to 1/2 cup increments until all the flour is gone. Stop the mixer, scrape the bowl, then turn the mixer on the same speed for five whole minutes. When five minutes is up, stop the mixer and scrape the bottom of the bowl. Now turn on the mixer for 30 seconds. Now turn off the mixer and allow the dough to sit in the bowl undisturbed for 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes, transfer dough to a lightly oiled bowl. Toss the dough to coat, then cover the bowl with plastic wrap and place straight in the fridge. Refrigerate dough for at least 8 hours, or overnight, or at least 8 hours.

Now onto the doughnuts …

Remove bowl from fridge and turn out dough onto a lightly floured (be sure to use gf flour!) surface. Roll out to 1/4 to 1/3-inch thickness. Then, using a 3-inch cutter, cut as many rounds as you can, then roll out remaining dough and cut as much as you can, etc. Cut holes out of each round using a 1 1/2-inch cutter. Place both doughnuts and holes on a floured baking sheet.

Now cover with large tea towel and place in a warm place in your kitchen.

Allow doughnuts to rise undisturbed for at least 1 hour (1 hour 15 minutes if necessary). Donuts should be visibly puffier and appear to be airy.

Now it’s time to fry!

Heat plenty of canola oil in a large pot, or cast iron skillet. The PW says until the temperature reaches 375 to 380 degrees — do not let it get hotter than 380 degrees! 375 is ideal; keep the thermometer in the pan to continually monitor. I, however, misplaced my candy thermometer so after it passed my meat one of 220 degrees, I waited awhile. It seemed to work.

One to two at a time, gently grab doughnuts and ease them into the hot oil. While the orignal recipe says to allow them to cook 1 minute on each side, as they will brown very quickly, as with most gluten-free foods, you’ll need a little bit more time to cook well.

Remove doughnuts from the oil with a slotted spoon, allowing all oil to drip off. Place doughnut immediately on several layers of paper towels. Count to about five, then flip it over onto a clean part of the paper towels. Count to five, then flip it over again; you want to drain as much grease as possible before it soaks into the doughnut.

Repeat with remaining doughnuts and holes. The holes will cook more quickly than the doughnuts; about 30 seconds per side. Allow doughnuts to slightly cool.

Here’s what my plate full of cooked donuts looked like. Not bad, eh?

For glaze:

  • 3 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoons Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 1/2 cups Cold Water Or Milk

Mix all glaze ingredients in a bowl until completely smooth. Then, one by one, dip doughnuts into the glaze until halfway submerged. (Completely submerge doughnut holes, then remove with slotted spoon.)

And this is a glazed one, where I admit the glaze did not stick too well.

The verdict: This donut was not worth the amount of work that went into it. Mostly because in the final phases I looked around my kitchen and thought, “That’s it. I’m just going to have to throw away everything in here, or run away from home and change my name.” That being said, it did satisfy my donut jones for, like ever. It was just thicker than your average donut, and the glaze really wasn’t the same as what they do at Krispy Kreme. But until Glutino perfects their gf donuts, I’ll be working on mine. And of course, will keep you updated on donut progress.

Do you have a kick-ass/easy gf donut recipe? Oh god, please tell me if you do.

Images (top to bottom): Robert Banh/Flickr, moi, et moi

5 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Recipes

5 responses to “Please Send Donuts

  1. I’m actually eating a donut right now. Maybe they are worth it.

  2. Pingback: An Apology to my Husband | Gluten Is My Bitch

  3. Gala

    Hello, fellow Goldman! So nice to meet you yesterday at the Sporkies’ class. Wanted to check out your blogging world, and my eye was drawn to this entry, as I, too, love donuts. In fact, I just got a cookbook to make vegan, GF donuts, and I wanted to pass along this recipe (which was posted recently in Daily Candy): http://www.dailycandy.com/online/article/103638/Vegan-Donut-Recipe-from-BabyCakes-Covers-the-Classics

    Enjoy!
    gail

  4. Ohhh, than you Gail! Nice meeting you too. That class was awesome! I’m going to write about it today.
    I’m totally going to experiment with this recipe. RAD.

  5. Pingback: Gluten-Free Protein Drinks Are Going to Make Me Skinny Again | Gluten Is My Bitch

Leave a Reply

