Gluten-Free Coconut Macaroons for Passover


Suckers! The rad thing about macaroons is they are naturally gluten-free. Even the French ones. What is weird about macaroons is they have to be different when Passover rolls around on account of some rules about not using certain things during baking. But I thought it was wheat, and they don’t have wheat, so I’m (as usual) confused about the Jewish tradition behind the macaroon.

I am not, however, confused about how damn good these things are! You guys, I made macaroons. And they’re delicious and basically the easiest thing of all time. Luckily I had some coconut left over so I didn’t even have to go to the store for ingredients. The recipe I used called for sweetened coconut flakes, and mine were not. But these were still pretty dang sweet, what with the condensed milk.

Right about now my daughter’s kindergarten class should be checking them out to see if they’re any good. I, however, have some in my purse and some in my digestive system and I’m telling you — they are.

So get your Passover on and make up a batch of macaroons. Your cholesterol will not thank you at all for it.

Gluten-Free Coconut Macaroons

tweaked from Phoenix New Times

Ingredients

2 egg whites
pinch of salt
1 can condensed milk (14 oz)
1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 bag sweetened or unsweetened coconut flakes (14 oz)

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Whisk the egg whites and salt with an electric mixer until it reaches soft peaks.

2. In a separate bowl, combine the coconut flakes with the condensed milk and extract.

3. Gently fold the whipped egg whites into the coconut mixture.

4. Drop the coconut batter by the tablespoon onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake at 325°F for about 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Makes: 20 cookies

Pesach!

2 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Recipes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gluten-Free Coconut Macaroons for Passover

  1. These look delicious. Can’t wait to try them!

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Pasta With Leeks & Thyme: CSA Box Recipes | Gluten Is My Bitch

Leave a Reply

