My New Most Favorite Gluten-Free Pasta Recipe


For those of you who are in the angry anti-pasta stage of your gluten-free lifestyle (oh, you didn’t know that was a thing? It totally is), I have something that just might lure you back to the world of gf pasta goodness. Or, if you’re happy cursing fusilli, be my guest. Seriously, it feels good to take out your anger on sub par pasta. It really does.

But if you’re ready to give noodles another chance, may I recommend this frankenrecipe I created from a yummy penne number from America’s Test Kitchen, and another particularly compelling post I read about white beans? I may? Why, thank you!

I’ve kind of given up on the hardcore red sauce pastas I used to make. Which is sad, but since I was diagnosed in the middle of an intense “Grandma’s Italian Kitchen” cooking phase of my life, I still associate that huge pot of bubbling Sunday sauce with massive stomach pain. Not unlike my reaction to Bacardi, I just steer clear due to the epic-ly negative association.

But just because you skip the intense red sauce, does not mean you should deny flavor atop your pasta. Adding red pepper flakes is always a win, and getting your white beans and broccoli all crunchy can be incredibly satisfying. Especially to a gluten-free person, who has lost all sense of “crunch” along with her sense of “good beer.”

What I’m trying to say, is this is the best damn pasta recipe outside of Brooklyn. It just happens to be gluten-free. Eat it!

Gluten-Free Penne With Broccoli and White Beans

Prep time: 15 minutes Cook time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 onions, chopped fine
12 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 (15 oz) cans cannellini beans, rinsed
2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 large head of broccoli, prepped
12 ounces gluten-free pasta
1 ounce Parmesan cheese, grated
Salt and pepper

1. Heat olive oil over medium in Dutch oven, add onions and cook until softened.

2. Stir in garlic and pepper flakes and cook about 30 seconds. Stir in beans and broth. Bring to simmer and cook until thickened slightly, about 10 minutes.

3. Stir in broccoli and cook until tender. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

4. Meanwhile, cook your gf pasta according to directions.

5. Add 2 teaspoons olive oil, cooked pasta, and 1/4 cup Parmesan to bean mixture and toss to combine. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan and serve.

Makes: 8 servings

6 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Recipes, Uncategorized

6 responses to “My New Most Favorite Gluten-Free Pasta Recipe

  1. Gluten free or not, that looks DELICIOUS!

    Just out of curiosity, have you tried the GF corn pasta that Trader Joe’s started selling? I usually do brown rice or quinoa but could only find spaghetti in the corn variety yesterday – surprisingly good. Stays al dente (unlike brown rice pasta that gets mushy) – I’m wondering about the other shapes.

    • Yes! I haven’t loved the corn pasta previously, but both my husband and I agree that the Trader Joe’s corn pasta is the best we’ve had. I’ve had spaghetti and fussili (sp?) thus far and they both are fantastic.

  2. Pingback: My New Most Favorite Gluten-Free Pasta Recipe | Gluten Is My Bitch – Fine Food Recipes

  3. Yuumm..looks delicious can’t wait more to have this dish

  4. Barbara Humphreys

    This looks very interesting, however I was looking for your white beans and macaroni with celery, Parmesan and red pepper flakes, garlic, and some spices.

Leave a Reply

