Daily Archives: November 9, 2012

Gluten-Free Thanksgiving: Almond Crown Pie

What’s up, Thanksgiving? You’re right around the dang corner somehow, so it seems I’m going to have to start eating like it’s already here. Why? As a service to you good people, that’s why. So poke an extra hole in that belt and get ready for even more gluten-free holiday recipes!

First up, a crazy delicious gluten-free almond crown pie. Something I had never heard of until I tried to figure out what in the world to do with this impulse buy I found in my cabinet.

Most people grab some puff pastry and go to town with this almond filling, but sadly there is no gluten-free puff pastry as of yet. (Hello, gluten-free food companies, get on that!) Instead I found a few recipes for this delicious almond crown pie thing and gluten-freed that bad boy.

Per usual, I simply purchased a pre-made gluten-free pie crust because I am NOT going to do it myself. Nope, can’t make me. After I finished this sweet and nutty wonder,  I realized it was basically a pecan pie but with the hot nut on the block — the almighty almond. The crown comes in when you line the crust with row of whole almonds (first row seen in the photo above).

Interestingly enough, I did not even notice the row of almonds when I sliced into this sweet piece of heaven, but it’s a cute idea, yes?

Here’s how you can change it up at your pie table.

Continue reading

3 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Recipes, Uncategorized