How Not to Get Gluten’d On Christmas


gluten-free mintsMerry Christmas, everybody! I hope you’re all getting ready for some serious cheer up in here. Me? I’ve been trying to hit as many holiday parties as possible because 1, fun; and 2, that’s one less meal I have to cook and clean! Of course with free meals come risk, when you’re of the gluten-free type. Which is how I got very minor-ly gluten’d while enjoying a holiday party that was beyond gluten conscious. Was it the knife I used to cut the cheese and place it upon my gf cracker that had touched other gluten-filled crackers, or maybe the bread I picked up for my toddler and perhaps was not vigilant about washing my hands. Regardless, it was a quick hit and I recovered quickly. All-in-all a small price to pay for a great party.

Perhaps you aren’t willing to take any kind of hit. That’s smart, but somewhat unrealistic unless you can stay home and ban all gluten from your home. You might want to go spend the holidays with family, friends, or at a very fancy restaurant. If that’s the case, here is your full-proof guide to not eating one spec of gluten while away from home. Consider it my holiday gift, to you. 

1. Wash every pan and dish yourself upon arrival at your destination. Which should be at least four hours prior to invite time.

2. Only eat food smuggled in your purse.

3. DON’T TOUCH ANYTHING. No, not even that.

And that, my friends, is how to get through the holidays unscathed. Sorry I can’t do anything about your in-laws.

Okay, what do you do to protect your tender gut during the holidays?

6 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Uncategorized

6 responses to “How Not to Get Gluten’d On Christmas

  1. We are hiding out in our country house, sans gluten. Ah, bliss! Sort of. I mean my kids are here. But my in laws aren’t :) Happy Holidays all, here’s hoping it’s G free.
    -Dana

  2. This was my first GF holiday season. Some of my family are aware of my Celiac’s, and some have no idea what it means or how many things have gluten in it. My survival was to use my own knife and butter for my gluten free bread and not share, wipe down things, read ingredients, use separate serving spoons for everything, and most of all, ask a thousand questions and not eating anything I hadn’t either made or watched prepared (thankfully, I have a cousin who has a huge heart, and she made sure all of her dishes were GF).

  3. MairiK

    I remember when I was diagnosed three years ago; my Dr. told me that I was NEVER EVER going to be able to eat outside my home again- no restaurants, no dinners at friends he said…no no no. It took a year, but I finally stamped my foot and shook my curls and declared, this is ridiculous!
    And yes, I’ve been gluten-ed and asked to please rethink my coming to certain eaterys (by waiters and asst. managers after nicely explaining about cross-contamination) and been given the fish-eye by the hostess at dinner partys. but recently more hostesses are asking about gf recipes because they know someone who has just been diagnosed, and more restaurants are ‘getting it’ that to not accommodate celiacs and those with allergies not only cuts into their business, but also into the good will word of mouth network. And I believe blogs such as yours that present the issue with wit and sass helps, too.

  4. I don’t comment here often enough, but I always love reading.

    This was my first set of GF holidays, and I think I went a little psychokiller on my inlaws, who are very sweet people with as much attention as non-celiacs could be expected to give to food issues (other allergies in the family, etc.). For all of the gluten-free dishes, I tried to be as stealthy as I could in ensuring that I got the first helping of everything. Once anyone else so much as reached for a dish, I had to consider it off limits. Too much touching of serving spoons onto their plates, accidentally dribbling crumbs (at least in my imagination), and who knows what else. So even though I wanted seconds of a few things, no dice. Of course I still felt not right after most of the meals, so one of these years I’m hoping to convince the family to come to us!

  5. Wow, it sucks to hear how hard it is for other celiacs. I’m lucky that my family cooks mostly whole foods at Christmas and those who make the casseroles (my aunt and my mom) know what gluten-free is, so they keep it clean. The only gluten thing on the table is the rolls, which I don’t touch. I can’t eat dessert, though. My aunt (a professional baker) is snobby about using gluten-free flour (it’s too dry), and I have to try not to laugh when she says “I only used a FEW TABLESPOONS of flour in the brownies”. Occasionally I make my own carrot cake or pumpkin pie, which no one usually touches, so I get to bring it home and enjoy the leftovers. :P

Leave a Reply

