Gluten-Free Rainbow Cake in the House!


gluten free rainbow cakeNope, I can’t believe I did this either. Although when I show you the full-on photo you will see how I jacked it all up and realize that oh, yes, that seems more like April’s style. But let’s just bask in the amazingness of this gluten-free six layer rainbow cake that KICKS ASS. And actually is not that hard to throw together, believe it or not. That is, if you’re a normal person with loads of patience and realistic expectations of the hours in the day and such. But even if you’re like me and expect to whip up this masterpiece in a few hours before company comes over, it can be done. The first thing you do is head to the store and buy up all the gluten-free vanilla cake mix they have to offer.

I LOVE XO Baking Co.’s cake mixes, pancake mixes, buttercream frosting mixes—basically everything they do I am a huge fan of eating in mass quantities. Tragically, they did not have enough left at the gluten-free store so I had to use two different kinds of cake mixes. Which is fine, it’s just not as easy and I’m all about making things as easy as possible for you people (and of course, for myself.) You will need three regular gluten-free cake mixes for this recipe, or use one of your favorite cake recipes and triple that sucker. Now, let’s talk about frosting.

You can also go with three gluten-free frosting mixes from XO Baking Co., or you can triple one vanilla buttercream recipe (see below). Buttercream is so freaking good, and naturally gluten-free, but when you’re talking about this quantity you should really use a KitchenAid stand mixer. Says the girl who burned the motor out of her Cuisinart hand mixer whipping up this butter and powdered sugar magic.

Why yes I have been waiting until the last moment to discuss food coloring. Let’s all just work with the assumption that food coloring is not good for you. Apparently there are some food colorings out there that have gluten as well, though I have not yet stumbled across those vials of poison. McCormick’s food coloring is gluten-free so go forth and dye those vanilla cakes.

Now, let’s talk about how you can avoid this situation -

gluten free rainbow cake

It looks like I took that cake for a ride around Mulholland in a roadster. Much less exciting, I simply could not wait for one cake to cool before baking the next (I only have two 8″ rounds) and then started slapping that icing on way too soon. Hence, my crazy cake. So here’s what you need—it’s called patience. Always allow your cakes to cool completely. Level the top of each cake with a serrated knife, and add a crumb coating of icing to every layer and the top of the cake and allow the thin layer of icing to dry completely before you do the big final icing situation. Sure this kind of waiting means you’re hanging out with rainbow cake all day, but you get to hang out with rainbow cake all day.

Rather than be intimidated, just know this: You’re making three two-layer cakes and icing them. You simply divide these three cakes six ways, and dye each layer a different color. Sprinkles optional (but highly recommended). It really is that easy. Also note, if you allow the cakes to cool completely before leveling, icing and stacking it will look perfect. But even if you go all slap-dashery like I did, it still tastes magical.

Get your rainbow on.

Gluten-Free Rainbow Cake

Prep time: 45 minutes Cook time: 25 minutes-75 minutes

Ingredients

3 packages gluten-free vanilla cake mix and what package requires (usually butter, oil, eggs, and/or milk)

Frosting:

3 packages gluten-free vanilla buttercream frosting (follow instructions) or use this recipe:

6 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
9 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1 teaspoon salt
4 Tablespoons vanilla
10-12 Tablespoons milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 (or what cake package reads). Using non-stick spray, coat all of your 8″ rounds (you’ll need 6, or re-use what you have).

2. Mix cake according to directions. Divide batter equally into six different bowls. Using gluten-free food coloring, dye each bowl the following color: purple, blue, yellow, red, orange, green. Pour mixes into 8″ rounds. Bake 2 or 3 rounds at a time, and put the remaining batter into the refrigerator until it’s time to cook.

3. Allow each cake to cool completely. Prepare frosting while cakes are cooling.

4. Using a stand mixer or a very strong hand mixer (highly recommend the former), beat butter until smooth. Slowly add powdered sugar and mix thoroughly between each addition. Add salt, vanilla, and milk incrementally until frosting is the desired texture. If you want to add a crumb coating (I did not but this will make it look better) set aside 1 cup of frosting in medium bowl. Continue to add milk and mix until the frosting in the bowl is very thin. This will be your crumb coating frosting.

5. To stack and ice the cakes, place the purple round on the bottom of your cake stand or platter. Using a serrated knife, level the top of the cake. Either frost the top of the purple layer with frosting, or if you’re doing a crumb coating, add a layer of the thinned frosting and allow to dry before adding 1/4 inch of frosting. Repeat with each layer in this order: blue round, green, yellow, orange, and red.

6. After each layer has 1/4 inch of frosting, use a spatula to ice the outside and top of the cake. Smooth the edges with spatula or the edge of a knife. Add sprinkles and serve.

Makes: 20 servings of amazingness

19 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Recipes, Uncategorized

19 responses to “Gluten-Free Rainbow Cake in the House!

  1. Julie T

    Sooo. Love love love your blog. And have wowed many non-GF friends with your recipes. I’m just not sure what a ‘crumb coating frosting’ is. And frankly, if it involves thinning down frosting deliciousness, I probably am not interested now that I think about it.

    • Ha! Well, I’m not interested in it because it takes so damn long. But it’s actually an extra, very thin layer of frosting that has to dry completely before you ice each layer. It keeps the crumbs from getting into your frosting and holds it all together nicely. Honestly, I’d never do this unless I had a cake in the county fair or something. Which, you know, happens all the time.

  2. Cory

    I have given up baking since going GF, but you know what? I’m going to give it a try again.

  3. Pingback: Gluten Is My Bitch, Blog!! | moono gluno

  4. LOVE your posts! Could you just send me one of these the next time you make it? YUMMY

  5. I made one of these for Valentine’s this year. I lined my two pans with a circle of parchment, and then popped the whole cake out as soon as it had cooled enough that it wouldn’t collapse. I placed the cakes on a cooling rack in the freezer while I started the next batch.

    Also, I divided the batter into thirds using my kitchen scale; weigh your bowls first! I added a primary color to each, removed half the tinted batter to a pan, and then added the necessary color to turn the remaining primary color into a secondary color. i.e. I started with a bowl of red, removed half, and added yellow to make the orange.

    Start to finish, the whole process took a little over an an hour.

  6. Pingback: Celiac Disease Turns Out to Be Awesome | Gluten Is My Bitch

  7. Wow, this cake is awesome! Your kids are lucky, even with the crazy cake tilt.
    -Dana

  8. Pingback: My Week (Or Two) in Paleo | Gluten Is My Bitch

  9. Pingback: The Whole 30 Is Going to Kick My Butt | Gluten Is My Bitch

  10. Pingback: What I Can’t Have on the Whole 30 Even Though It’s Gluten-Free | Gluten Is My Bitch

  11. Pingback: Gluten-Free Kryptonite Kake for The Khildren | Gluten Is My Bitch

  12. Pingback: Gluten-Free Kryptonite Kake for The Khildren | April, Anti-Gluten Activist « G-Free Foodie

  13. Pingback: What’s Your Damage?: Sugar | Gluten Is My Bitch

  14. Pingback: Gluten Free Rainbow Birthday Cake | celiac kiddo

Leave a Reply

