Gluten-Free Tiramisu Is Kind of Blowing My Mind


gluten-free tirimasu First of all I’m going to admit that I had no idea tiramisu was a no-cook dessert. Secondly, rum? Really, I enjoyed this delight for years before being gluten-free and I had NO IDEA WHAT I WAS EATING. (Admittedly, that wasn’t the only thing I ever ate that could be described the same way.) The other thing I learned during my schooling about this Italian dessert was that Schar offered gluten-free ladyfingers! So I went for it. It was goooood, you guys. Just like I remembered it. Creamy, dreamy, coffee-y and lightly chocolate-y.

I used the recipe on the package, as otherwise I would have had to have come home with more than one package because most tiramisu recipes are about twice as large. So if you’ve got a fab dinner party with lots of gluten-free boozy guests, double this recipe and go to town!  It has also occurred to me that there’s probably no other use for ladyfingers besides tiramisu. Is that right?

Since this is a no-cook, please buy great quality eggs so no one gets the salmonella. What with your propensity for diarrhea, you do NOT want salmonella on top of it all.

On that note -

Gluten-Free Tiramisu

Prep time: 15 minutes Chill time: 6 hours

Ingredients:

3 large egg yolks
3 large egg whites
4 Tablespoons sugar
8 oz. mascarpone cheese
2 Tablespoons dark rum
5.3 ounce package of Schar gluten-free ladyfingers
1-1/4 cups cooled espresso
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder

1. Soak gluten-free ladyfingers in espresso until the center is still slightly firm, but not too hard.

2. While the ladyfingers are soaking, beat the egg whites until stiff and set aside.

3. Beat egg yolks and sugar together, then add mascarpone cheese, and dark rum and combine completely. Fold egg whites into the mixture.

4. Place half of the soaked ladyfingers in a single layer on the bottom of glass dish. Cover with half of the mascarpone mixture, then layer the other half of the ladyfingers on top. Top with remaining mascarpone mixture. Sprinkle cocoa powder on top, and place in refrigerator for 6 hours.

5. Remove from refrigerator and slice into pieces and serve.

Makes: 6 servings

10 Comments

Filed under Celiac Disease, Recipes

10 responses to “Gluten-Free Tiramisu Is Kind of Blowing My Mind

  1. YUM! This is my hubby’s fave… definitely making this soon! Thanks :)

  2. … Quick question though: what would you recommend for a sugar free version? Stevia??? (trying to cut down/eliminate sugar… and it’s so freaking HARD! Ugh.)

  3. Tom

    Coconut nectar for sure. It’s got a nice caramel-y flavor that should work well. GF ladyfingers? Who knew. Thanks, Simon. I would make the marscarpone from cashews (soak raw for a couple of hours, drain, blend on high with a bit of nut milk, add a bit of lemon juice and salt), then my allergenista customers can have dessert for their Italian meal. Yay!

  4. Lesley B

    Schar makes some good stuff. Wish I could find in the Atlanta area.

  5. This looks absolutely amazing! Many thanks for the share, I will make sure to give it a try over the weekend.

  6. Pingback: Tiramisu | jcooksglutenfree

Leave a Reply

