Gluten-Free Italian Meatballs From ‘The Warm Kitchen’


gluten-free italian meatballsI love it when you meet someone super nice and they give you a cookbook, and then you make something from said cookbook, and IT’S AWESOME.

Amy Fothergill, a gluten-free professional cooking instructor at The Family Chef has created an easy to use gluten-free cookbook (with dairy- egg- and sugar-free substitutions!) in The Warm Kitchen and I love it. My kids love it too, unfortunately too much for my taste as my daughter declared Amy’s recipe for Italian Meatballs “Better than yours, mom.” Really? Well, let’s see who’s meatballs pay your way through college, sister.

Anyway.

Amy’s cookbook is chock full of simple, yet delicious and tested recipes so you all should buy it, use it, live it, love it. Here’s how to make my new family favorite.

Gluten-Free Italian Meatballs

reprinted courtesy of Amy Fothergill, The Warm Kitchen

Prep time: 20 minutes Cook time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

2 large eggs
1⁄4-1⁄3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1⁄4 cup chopped Italian parsley
2 tablespoons dry or 1 teaspoon minced garlic or 1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon sea or kosher salt
1⁄2 teaspoon ground pepper
1 pound ground chuck (beef)
1⁄4 pound each ground pork and veal (or 1/2 pound of one, or 1/2 pound additional beef)
1 cup gluten-free breadcrumbs or gluten-free instant oats
3⁄4 cup milk or milk substitute, plain and unsweetened

From Amy: This is by far my son’s favorite dish. I always joke that I will still be making them for him when he’s an adult! If you make them tiny, you can add them to the out the Chicken Noodle Soup recipe without the noodles along with chopped spinach and Parmesan cheese to make Italian Wedding soup.

1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.

2. Mix eggs, cheese, and seasonings with a fork or whisk. Add remaining ingredients, except milk, and mix. Add mix with your hands until well incorporated. If the mixture seems dry, add more milk, up to 3/4 cup in total. It’s fine if it’s a little sticky.

3. Roll meatballs that are about 1 size of a golf ball.

4. Place on a greased baking sheet or one lined with a silicone mat or parchment paper.

5. Bake for 20 minutes and then turn meatballs over. Bake an additional 10 minutes or until golden brown and internal temperature reaches 165° F.

6. After meatballs are cooked, simmer in Weeknight Tomato, So Simple Tomato, or Bolognese Sauce (see Index).

Makes: 12-14 medium or 20-25 small meatballs

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Gluten-Free Italian Meatballs From ‘The Warm Kitchen’

  1. I have never heard of Amy Fothergill or The Warm Kitchen. I am new to this and still learning what is available to help me and what is not. I will give this recipe a try.

    • I’m working on getting my name out there! Come visit my site (it’s in the post). My goal is to create gluten-free recipes that produce great tasting food which are also easy to make.

  2. This recipe looks great! I’m always looking for new tried and true recipes for my picky people.
    -Dana

  3. Dana, that is the style of the book. My kids are good eaters but I try these on all kids, not just gf ones; they literally eat it up. Let me know if you have other questions. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

